This site is built for, and intended for viewing on laptop, desktop, net top monitors, it is not suitable for mobile viewing.

the 1st AHA

The 1st “aha” (Annual Hortensia Anderson) Haiku Contest held in 2013 was created to honor the memory of a well-known and respected New York-based haiku poet, Hortensia Anderson, Rest in Peace Hortensia.

Deadline: open 1 January 2024 to 31 January 2024. 

Sponsor: the United Haiku and Tanka Society.

Coordinator: Marilyn Humbert, Australia. 

Blind Adjudication: peterB, USA. 

Eligibility: Open to everyone worldwide.

Awards: This contest is FREE for unlimited entries, with no set theme all rights remain with the haiku poets. Printable Certificates will be emailed to winners for 1st, 2nd, 3rd Place, and one HM. (see picture below)

Submissions: Entries must be the original work of the author, be unpublished and never posted publicly anywhere, and not under consideration elsewhere for the entire time period it takes to complete the judging. This contest is un-themed and open to all age groups worldwide, any season is acceptable, and there is no specific syllable requirement with the exception of a short, long, short (or close to) rhythm written in 3 lines of vertical (down) text. Entries that do not follow these guidelines will not be considered, read carefully.

Entry Fee: None, it’s FREE!

Guidelines: Use the subject heading (aha entry), and type each individual haiku only, (no senryu) in the body of your email. Include your name, country, and email contact. Please type in this email: 

mhumbert1953 at Gmail dot com (no political or inappropriate material will be considered by the staff).

From Marilyn: “all entrants will be advised that I have received their entry, but if you haven’t heard from me within 7 days, please re-send.”

Notification: ONLY the winners will be notified and ONLY via email, (and if you have no email address available, (please provide a proxy email address.) If you don’t hear anything back by 1 March 2023, your entries are automatically free to submit elsewhere.

Publication: Winners will be posted in March 2024 on the UHTS website with the Judge’s commentary. 

Thank you for your participation to honor the memory of a wonderful person who contributed so much of herself to the haiku community over the years.